You are here:

LGBTI Justice Working Group Communique: Meeting 3 (15 February 2016)

The Victorian Government’s Taskforce for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex (LGBTI) Victorians' LGBTI Justice Working Group 2015-17 held its third meeting on 15 February 2016.

Co-chairs Anna Brown and Harriet Shing MP were joined by the Commissioner for Gender and Sexuality, Rowena Allen, as well as Brenda Appleton and Jamie Gardiner from the Taskforce.

Specific topics considered

Representatives from Corrections Victoria, Justice Health and Victoria Police attended to discuss the treatment and management of trans and gender diverse and intersex people in custody.

The Justice Working Group also considered and discussed:

  • the proposed implementation of the reforms to the Relationships Act 2008 to strengthen legal recognition of same sex relationships, including the making of regulations to recognise relationship registration schemes of relevant Australian states and territories, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Canada and the Netherlands; and
  • reforms to the Births, Deaths and Marriages Registration Act 1996 as it relates to trans and gender diverse and intersex Victorians.

In addition, the Justice Working Group received an update on the progress of the expungement scheme for historical homosexual sex convictions.

Next Meeting

The Justice Working Group will reconvene for its next meeting on 18 April 2016. 

Download a copy of this communique

New Window These link(s) will launch in a new browser window.

Author: Department of Justice and Regulation
Publisher: Department of Justice and Regulation
Date of Publication: 2016
Copyright: State of Victoria, 2016.


Get Adobe Reader Get Open Office You may need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader or Open Office to view the document(s) on this page. Get Adobe® Acrobat® Reader (External link) Get Open Office (External link)

If you would like to receive this publication in a more accessible format, you can request it via our website feedback form.

Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander flags

The department acknowledges Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people as the Traditional Custodians of the land and acknowledges and pays respect to their Elders, past and present.