You can view lists of statutory entities within the department below:



Statutory offices:

  • Chief Examiner and Examiner (jointly administered with the Minister for Police)
  • Commissioner for Uniform Legal Services Regulation (jointly administered with the Attorney-General of New South Wales)
  • Crown Counsel
  • Crown Prosecutors
  • Director of Public Prosecutions
  • Public Advocate
  • Solicitor-General
  • Victims of Crime Commissioner
  • Victorian Legal Services Commissioner 

Administrative offices:

  • Victorian Government Solicitor’s Office 

Statutory authorities:

  • Appeal Costs Board
  • Coronial Council of Victoria
  • Court Services Victoria
  • Judicial College of Victoria
  • Judicial Commission of Victoria
  • Judicial Entitlements Panel
  • Legal Practitioners’ Liability Committee Legal Services Council (Uniform Legal Services Regulation) (jointly administered with the  Attorney-General of New South Wales) 
  • Office of Public Prosecutions
  • Panel of Independent Reviewers – Legal Aid Act
  • Sentencing Advisory Council
  • Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal Rules Committee
  • Victims of Crime Consultative Committee
  • Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission
  • Victoria Law Foundation
  • Victoria Legal Aid
  • Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine
  • Victorian Law Reform Commission
  • Victorian Legal Services Board
  • Victorian Legal Admissions Board
  • Victorian Professional Standards Council
  • Victorian Traditional Owners Trust

Judicial and quasi-judicial bodies

  • Supreme Court of Victoria
  • County Court of Victoria
  • Magistrates’ Court of Victoria
  • Children’s Court of Victoria
  • Coroners Court of Victoria
  • Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal
  • Victims of Crime Assistance Tribunal
  • Municipal Electoral Tribunals 

Consumer affairs, gaming and liquor regulation

Statutory offices:

  • Arbitrator, Sale of Land Act
  • Director of Consumer Affairs Victoria 

Statutory authorities:

  • Business Licensing Authority
  • Consumer Policy Research Centre
  • Estate Agents Council
  • Independent Review Panel 
  • Liquor Control Advisory Council
  • Motor Car Traders Claims Committee
  • Residential Tenancies Bond Authority
  • Responsible Gambling Ministerial Advisory Council
  • Sex Work Ministerial Advisory Committee
  • Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation
  • Victorian Responsible Gambling Foundation


Statutory authorities:

  • Adult Parole Board
  • Post Sentence Authority
  • Women’s Correctional Services Advisory Committee 
  • Justice Health Ministerial Advisory Committee
  • Ministerial Community Advisory Committee (Custodial Community Permit Program) 

Emergency Services

Statutory offices:

  • Emergency Management Commissioner
  • Inspector-General for Emergency Management

Statutory authorities:

  • Country Fire Authority
  • Country Fire Authority Appeals Commission 
  • Emergency Management Victoria
  • Emergency Services Telecommunications Authority
  • Metropolitan Fire and Emergency Services Appeals Commission
  • Metropolitan Fire and Emergency Services Board 
  • Victoria State Emergency Service Authority 

Families and Children

  • Youth Parole Board


Statutory offices:

  • Chief Commissioner and Deputy Commissioners of Police
  • Chief Examiner and Examiner (jointly administered with the Attorney-General)

Statutory authorities:

  • Road Safety Camera Commissioner
  • Firearms Appeals Committee
  • Police Registration and Services Board
  • Road Safety Camera Commissioner Reference Group

Portfolio agencies:

  • Victoria Police

Workplace safety

Statutory offices:

  • Convenor of Medical Panels

Statutory authorities:

  • Victorian Work Cover Authority
  • Accident Compensation Conciliation Service
  • Victorian Asbestos Eradication Agency 

You can also: