Adoption Services

On 1 July 2019, delivery of Adoption Services transferred from the Department of Health and Human Service to the Department of Justice and Community Safety.

Adoption Services includes local adoption, inter-country adoption and information about past adoptions. 

Local adoption services are now delivered directly by Adoption Victoria within the Department of Justice and Community Safety, and indirectly by four community agencies:

  • Anglicare
  • CatholicCare
  • Uniting
  • Children and Families Services.

All local adoption service providers provide counselling of parentsconsidering placing a child for adoption, and assessment of people interested in local adoption.

Adoption Victoria arranges:

Adoption Information Services provides support to:

Contact community agencies

Four agencies provide local adoption services in Victoria:

Within this section