All hearings are adjourned until 15 June 2020 or after.

If you have a hearing listed before this date, it will be postponed but your matter will be prioritised when sitting is recommenced.

New applications can be filed with the Committee as usual, but will not be listed for hearing.

If you have any queries about these arrangements, please contact the Committee Secretariat on 8684 1050 or

0429 701 586 or 03 8684 1050
Postal address
Department of Justice and Community Safety
GPO Box 4356

Information on how to lodge an appeal with the Firearms Appeals Committee

The Firearms Appeals Committee is a statutory appeals body, independent of government, established under Part 9 of the Firearms Act 1996.

The function of the committee is to review certain decisions of the Chief Commissioner of Victoria Police to: 

  • cancel firearm licences
  • refuse firearm licence applications
  • impose certain conditions on firearm licences. 

The committee consists of up to 15 members, who are appointed by the Governor in Council. The members of the committee are made up of legal representatives, firearm industry representatives and representatives nominated by the Minister for Police. Committee members are appointed for three year terms. The department acts as Secretariat to the committee.