Find information about our ministers, executives, portfolios and agencies. See our organisational chart. You can also visit our contact us section.


On this page

  • Our ministers
  • Our board members
  • Our organisational structure
  • Our organisation chart
  • Portfolios, agencies and entities

Our ministers

The department and its Secretary are responsible to the ministers who cover the following portfolios:

  • Jaclyn Symes MP, Attorney-General
  • The Hon. Danny Pearson MP,  Acting Minister for Police and Emergency Services
  • The Hon. Natalie Hutchins MP, Minister for Crime Prevention, Minister for Corrections, Minister for Youth Justice, Minister for Victim Support
  • The Hon. Melissa Horne MP, Minister for Consumer Affairs, Gaming and Liquor Regulation
  • Ingrid Stitt MP, Minister for Workplace Safety.

Our board

The Board of Management is the peak body in the department corporate governance structure, advising the Secretary on the management and administration of the department to ensure compliance with government directives, guidelines and legislation. It is responsible for integrating governance functions across the department and working collaboratively with portfolio agencies.

  • Rebecca Falkingham, Secretary
  • Samuel Porter, Deputy Secretary, Justice Policy and Data Reform
  • Ryan Phillips, Deputy Secretary, Corrections and Justice Services
  • Larissa Strong, Acting Commissioner, Corrections Victoria
  • Peta McCammon, Deputy Secretary, Service Delivery Reform, Coordination and Workplace Safety
  • Danni de Kretser, Acting Deputy Secretary, Youth Justice
  • Jodi Henderson, Commissioner, Youth Justice
  • Josh Smith, Deputy Secretary, Aboriginal Justice
  • Corinne Cadilhac, Deputy Secretary, Justice Infrastructure and CEO, Community Safety Building Authority
  • John Batho, Deputy Secretary, Consumer Affairs, Liquor, Gaming and Dispute Services
  • Marian Chapman, Deputy Secretary, Legal and Integrity
  • Craig Howard, Deputy Secretary, Fines, Registration and Crime Prevention
  • Bill Kyriakopoulos, Deputy Secretary, Police, Community Safety and Communications
  • Sue Clifford, Deputy Secretary, Emergency Management and Chief Executive and Deputy State Controller, Industry Enforcement
  • Andrew Crisp, Emergency Management Commissioner
  • Andrew Campbell, Deputy Secretary, Corporate Governance and Support
  • Nicola Brown, Deputy Secretary, People and Workplace Services
  • Gabriela Pulczynski, Director, Office of the Secretary 

Our organisational structure

The department is comprised of 13 groups:

  • Aboriginal Justice
  • Consumer Affairs, Liquor, Gaming and Dispute Services
  • Corporate Governance and Support
  • Corrections and Justice Services
  • Emergency Management and Industry Enforcement
  • Justice Infrastructure / Community Safety Building Authority
  • Justice Policy and Data Reform
  • Legal and Integrity
  • People and Workplace Services
  • Police, Community Safety and Communications
  • Fines, Registration and Crime Prevention
  • Service Delivery Reform, Coordination and Workplace Safety
  • Youth Justice

Our organisation chart

Download a high-level organisation chart showing our groups and executive staff below:

Portfolios, agencies and entities

The following portfolios, agencies and entities are supported administratively by Department of Justice and Community Safety.



Statutory offices:

  • Chief Examiner and Examiner (jointly administered with the Minister for Police)
  • Commissioner for Uniform Legal Services Regulation (jointly administered with the Attorney-General of New South Wales)
  • Crown Counsel
  • Crown Prosecutors
  • Director of Public Prosecutions
  • Public Advocate
  • Solicitor-General
  • Victims of Crime Commissioner
  • Victorian Legal Services Commissioner 

Administrative offices:

  • Victorian Government Solicitor’s Office 

Statutory authorities:

  • Appeal Costs Board
  • Coronial Council of Victoria
  • Court Services Victoria
  • Judicial College of Victoria
  • Judicial Commission of Victoria
  • Judicial Entitlements Panel
  • Legal Practitioners’ Liability Committee Legal Services Council (Uniform Legal Services Regulation) (jointly administered with the  Attorney-General of New South Wales) 
  • Office of Public Prosecutions
  • Panel of Independent Reviewers – Legal Aid Act
  • Sentencing Advisory Council
  • Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal Rules Committee
  • Victims of Crime Consultative Committee
  • Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission
  • Victoria Law Foundation
  • Victoria Legal Aid
  • Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine
  • Victorian Law Reform Commission
  • Victorian Legal Services Board
  • Victorian Legal Admissions Board
  • Victorian Professional Standards Council
  • Victorian Traditional Owners Trust

Judicial and quasi-judicial bodies

  • Supreme Court of Victoria
  • County Court of Victoria
  • Magistrates’ Court of Victoria
  • Children’s Court of Victoria
  • Coroners Court of Victoria
  • Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal
  • Victims of Crime Assistance Tribunal
  • Municipal Electoral Tribunals 

Consumer affairs, gaming and liquor regulation

Statutory offices:

  • Arbitrator, Sale of Land Act
  • Director of Consumer Affairs Victoria 

Statutory authorities:

  • Business Licensing Authority
  • Consumer Policy Research Centre
  • Estate Agents Council
  • Independent Review Panel 
  • Liquor Control Advisory Council
  • Motor Car Traders Claims Committee
  • Residential Tenancies Bond Authority
  • Responsible Gambling Ministerial Advisory Council
  • Sex Work Ministerial Advisory Committee
  • Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation
  • Victorian Responsible Gambling Foundation


Statutory authorities:

  • Adult Parole Board
  • Post Sentence Authority
  • Women’s Correctional Services Advisory Committee 
  • Justice Health Ministerial Advisory Committee
  • Ministerial Community Advisory Committee (Custodial Community Permit Program) 

Emergency Services

Statutory offices:

  • Emergency Management Commissioner
  • Inspector-General for Emergency Management

Statutory authorities:

  • Country Fire Authority
  • Country Fire Authority Appeals Commission 
  • Emergency Management Victoria
  • Emergency Services Telecommunications Authority
  • Metropolitan Fire and Emergency Services Appeals Commission
  • Metropolitan Fire and Emergency Services Board 
  • Victoria State Emergency Service Authority 

Families and Children

  • Youth Parole Board


Statutory offices:

  • Chief Commissioner and Deputy Commissioners of Police
  • Chief Examiner and Examiner (jointly administered with the Attorney-General)

Statutory authorities:

  • Road Safety Camera Commissioner
  • Firearms Appeals Committee
  • Police Registration and Services Board
  • Road Safety Camera Commissioner Reference Group

Portfolio agencies:

  • Victoria Police

Workplace safety

Statutory offices:

  • Convenor of Medical Panels

Statutory authorities:

  • Victorian Work Cover Authority
  • Accident Compensation Conciliation Service
  • Victorian Asbestos Eradication Agency 


You may need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader or Libre Office to view the document(s) on this page.

Get Adobe® Acrobat® Reader (External link)

Get Libre Office (External link)