Following its recent establishment by the Victorian Government’s Taskforce for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex (LGBTI) Victorians, the LGBTI Justice Working Group 2015-17 held its inaugural meeting on 26 October 2015.

The Justice Working Group is co-chaired by Anna Brown and Harriet Shing MP.

While members were appointed for their individual skills and experience, they bring to the table a wide range of organisational and community connections.

The Justice Working Group is supported by staff of the Department of Justice and Regulation (DJR).

In orienting members to their task, the co-chair Anna Brown was joined by the Commissioner for Gender and Sexuality, Rowena Allen, for the inaugural meeting of the Justice Working Group. 

Terms of reference

The Justice Working Group’s terms of reference require the provision of subject matter advice to the Taskforce in relation to government justice policy, programs and services that affect LGBTI Victorians.

The content scope of the Justice Working Group includes civil law, criminal law, youth justice, safer communities and corrections.

Liaison will occur with the Health and Human Services and Education Working Groups of the Taskforce on issues that overlap with Justice.

Specific topics considered

The Justice Working Group discussed possible reform options to implement the Government's pre-election commitment to remove barriers to new birth certificates for trans and gender diverse and intersex Victorians, and to address the discriminatory automatic divorce consequences for trans and gender diverse Victorians. The Working Group also considered and discussed a draft work plan.

Next Meeting

The Justice Working Group will reconvene for its next meeting on 7 December 2015.

You may need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader or Libre Office to view the document(s) on this page.

Get Adobe® Acrobat® Reader (External link)

Get Libre Office (External link)